The home of Australian Hot Rodding on the Net
Hot-Rod Internet Bench Racing
Welcome to the only Aussie Rodders Forum on the Internet
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   Register 
 ProfileProfile   Login to check your private messagesLogin to check your private messages   Login 
HOT ROD
HOT ROD SWAP MEET
SWAP MEET

commodore v6/t700 wiring

 
       Hot-Rod Internet Bench Racing Forum Index -> Engine and Drivetrain
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fc ute
Rookie


Joined: 16 Jun 2021
Posts: 67
Location: perth western australia

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2021 10:02 pm    Post subject: commodore v6/t700 wiring

going to use a v6/t700 in the t tudor and need some info on the wiring.
i have a complete donor car can i
use the whole harness
use some of the harness and some of a kit
redo everthing
trying to keep to a budget on this so a $1000 wiring job is a no go
any suggestions appreciated
craig
Back to top
choco
500RPM



Joined: 11 Jun 2021
Posts: 549
Location: Queanbeyan, NSW (on the ACT border)

Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2021 7:44 am    Post subject:

If you have the donor car engine, trans, computer and wiring, go the factory setup. Is the computer a Delco? If so, get a copy of my book on the 86 - 89 TPI from Larry O'Toole. The wiring of the computer and the transmission is almost the same. Make sure you have a factory Holden manual. Not the third party "workshop" manual, but the FACTORY manual. You are going to need it! My book will show you how to do a custom installation, and the factory manual will show you the correct wiring colours, circuits, etc.
Call me if you have any questions.
02 62559810 or 0412 883 235
_________________
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
Frank Choco Munday, Technical Author
Hot Rod Handbooks
Phone: 0412 883 235 or (02) 6255 9810
Carburettors SUCK!
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
Back to top
fc ute
Rookie


Joined: 16 Jun 2021
Posts: 67
Location: perth western australia

Posted: Sun Feb 09, 2021 1:23 am    Post subject:

so is it the small block chev book i need?

and another question,in the picture of you next to your name, why do you have an ariel sticking out of your head?
craig
Back to top
choco
500RPM



Joined: 11 Jun 2021
Posts: 549
Location: Queanbeyan, NSW (on the ACT border)

Posted: Sun Feb 09, 2021 7:17 am    Post subject:

Yes, the Small Block Chev Tuned Port Fuel Injection book. Check it out on my web site. The SBC TPI computer is the same as the Commodore computer, whether it's a V6, V8, Astra, etc. The wiring is the same and the circuits are all named similarly, so the book will give you some guidelines when doing the swap.

That's not an antenna sticking out of my head - it's supposed to be the reflection of light on my shiny head, as seen by the cartoonist, Graeme Thomas.
_________________
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
Frank Choco Munday, Technical Author
Hot Rod Handbooks
Phone: 0412 883 235 or (02) 6255 9810
Carburettors SUCK!
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
Back to top
fc ute
Rookie


Joined: 16 Jun 2021
Posts: 67
Location: perth western australia

Posted: Sun Feb 09, 2021 11:24 pm    Post subject:

thanks choco, i'll order it off of the graffitti site now
craig
Back to top
choco
500RPM



Joined: 11 Jun 2021
Posts: 549
Location: Queanbeyan, NSW (on the ACT border)

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2021 6:41 am    Post subject:

fc ute wrote:
thanks choco, i'll order it off of the graffitti site now
craig

Golly, another $1 in royalties coming my way! That crate Hemi is lookin' good!

_________________
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
Frank Choco Munday, Technical Author
Hot Rod Handbooks
Phone: 0412 883 235 or (02) 6255 9810
Carburettors SUCK!
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
Back to top
Cool23
Rookie


Joined: 16 May 2021
Posts: 78
Location: Castlemaine, Australia

Posted: Fri May 23, 2021 1:22 pm    Post subject:

One thing to watch for if it is a GM dedicated gas motor is the wiring as they can be tricky and not much is known about them. I now some one that spent a week with wiring until he found out the odity in the Computer.
Cool23.
Back to top
jeffa
Rookie


Joined: 18 Sep 2020
Posts: 30
Location: Canberra

Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2020 1:14 pm    Post subject:

Re the T770/V6 combo:

Chocco: Do you know much about the VX (S1) V6/Auto? I am interested in fiddling with the lock-up torque convertor, so I can control when it engages/disengages at will, rather than by software downloads, or by use of the throttle. Being able to control it would make hilly drives a lot more enjoyable.

TA.
Back to top
choco
500RPM



Joined: 11 Jun 2021
Posts: 549
Location: Queanbeyan, NSW (on the ACT border)

Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2020 2:13 pm    Post subject:

Sorry, Jeffa, can't help you on that one. My reseacrh only went as far as wiring up a TH700 that went behind the 86 - 89 Chev TPI. I know the commodore stufrf is similar, but I can't say for sure. I recommend that you browse to www.kalmaker.com.au and see if Alan Gibbs can be of any assistance. Or try Castle Auto Electrics, they don't mind questions either.
_________________
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
Frank Choco Munday, Technical Author
Hot Rod Handbooks
Phone: 0412 883 235 or (02) 6255 9810
Carburettors SUCK!
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
Back to top
jeffa
Rookie


Joined: 18 Sep 2020
Posts: 30
Location: Canberra

Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2020 3:42 pm    Post subject:

Thanks mate.

I went down that route (kalmaker) and the suggestion was to use an afterkarket computer.

What I wanted to do was to be able to engage/disengage the TC lock-up clutch at will. When accelerating up genlte hills, it sometimes unlocks (giving much better acceleration) and sometimes stays locked. It'd be nice at that stage to unlock it.
When going down long hills, (over-run) it unlocks (the engine goes back to almost idle). At this stage, to get better engine braking, it would be better to have it locked. Well, down to a point, obviously, too low and it would stall, resulting in no engine braking at all, followed by no power assist for the brakes... Not a good scenario at all!
I can install a switch "Engaged/Disengaged/Auto" but I think the computer would complain with an error code if it asked the TC to lock up and it didn't.

Thanks anyway, Jeff.
Back to top
Rsphluff
Guest





Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2020 11:24 pm    Post subject:

Hey Jeffa, I agree that the lockup is a pain. I personally dont reckon the factory did a good job of calibrating the shift points and lockup points in the electronic trans boxes from VT onwards, and Gen 3 is even worse.
My 5L VT was a bloody pain, especially when in Cruise Control, whereas my VR was heaps better, so I started playing with Kalmaker, and improved it no end, and firmed it up while there.
You can switch it not to unlock on decell, but i have left that as is, but on the hills you only have to lower the speed versus the TPS setting (throttle position) and press down a bit further and it unlocks, but you have to watch it tho', because otherwise it gets too touchy and is always unlocking when you dont want it to.
I have heard of guys putting in switch with no probs, but I wouldnt recommend it.
Regards
Al Gibbs
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
       Hot-Rod Internet Bench Racing Forum Index -> Engine and Drivetrain All times are GMT + 10 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2.0.1 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group